Florida Personal Injury Laws – how much do you know?

0

How well do you know Florida Personal Injury Laws?

If you have been injured in a motor vehicle crash in Ft. Lauderdale, do you know what to do?

Take this quiz of 8 questions and find out your personal injury intelligence! Answers are below the quiz.

1. To collect money after suffering a personal injury, you need to show that the other party involved:

a. Had a duty not to injure you but failed to in that duty
b. The failure of that duty is directly related to your injuries; and,
c. You suffered damages
d. All of the above

2. Florida is a no-fault state, which means a person’s car insurance will pay for:

a. Injuries and damages resulting from an accident no matter who was at fault
b. Injuries but no damages
c. Injuries and damages, except for the person who was at fault
d. No injuries or damages – you’re on your own.

3. Florida law defines serious personal injuries as those resulting in:

a. Significant and permanent loss of an important bodily function
b. Permanent injury within a reasonable degree of medical probability, other than scarring or disfigurement
c. Significant and permanent scarring or disfigurement
d. Death
e. All of the above

4. If you can prove another person was at fault for injuring you, you may be entitled to compensation for your losses, which could include:

a. Past, current, and future estimated medical expenses
b. Lost wages from work, including time spent going to and from medical appointments and therapy
c. The cost of hiring someone to do household chores when you could not
d. 2-3 weeks paid vacation

5. If you are partially responsible for the incident that caused your injuries, then your potential award at trial is reduced, and fault/dollar amount is determined through the following:

a. If another person is more than 10 but less than 25 percent at fault, you can only collect up
to $200,000.
b. If the other person is between 26 and 50 percent at fault, the most you can collect is $500,000.
c. If another person is more than 50 percent at fault – but you were also partially at fault – the most you can       collect is $1 million.
d. All of the above

6. If you were injured by a product:

a. Yell at it
b. Call the company and demand a refund
c. Contact a personal injury attorney – the company is obligated to make its products safe.
e. Throw it out.

7. To collect money stemming from a personal injury claim, Florida law requires you to prove that another party was negligent by showing:

a. The party that caused your injuries had a responsibility not to injure you and failed to live up to that duty
b. They should not have laughed at you
c. They refused to call your mother
d. You suffered damages, or a financial loss, as a result of the accident

8. The various types of Florida personal injury compensation include:

a. The repair or replacement of any property that was damaged or destroyed in the accident
b. Permanent disability and disfigurement stemming from the accident
c. Mental anguish
d. Loss of consortium, or loss of companionship
e. All of the above

Answers: 1d; 2a; 3e; 4 a,b, c only; 5d; 6c; 7 a&d; 8e

Share.